Author Topic: Online Piracy  (Read 4061 times)

KMD

• Unwashed Apprentice
  • Unwashed Vagabond
    • View Profile
    • My Personal Website
Online Piracy
« on: February 25, 2011, 06:54:25 PM »

Nothing new, but worth discussing. What are your thoughts on online Piracy? Is it wrong? Is it killing media, or an over feared problem?

I think that PC game piracy might just kill big developers from the PC, but its been a while since I've played. Its stupidly easy, and most of the pirates have no shame. From what I hear, PC games have been coming out with anti-piracy software that makes them harder for legit users to play. That sucks, and I see these pirates as the biggest assholes around.

Music: I'll pirate music to my hearts content, but only because i'm a poor college student. It's not all bad because it exposes artists, who can make money other than just through album sales. When I get a decent job, i'll probably buy my share of albums to support those that I like (Even though the record companies take most of it). If you're a music performer, don't get too pissed off that people are pirating your music. Yes, you should get paid for it, but music performance is not something you go in for the money. I'm surprised at how many people are releasing pay-what-you-want EPs.

Movies: A lot of people do this, but I avoid it. Big budget films cost tons of money to produce, and I feel guilty getting it for free when they are extremely cheap thanks to redbox or netflix.

Games: Again, I avoid this unless the games are hard to come by legitimately, or so old that the company wouldn't make money from them (roms). They cost too much to design. I don't feel bad pirating roms though, especially ones that I own physically. With the right hardware, I could legally put the image on my computer. How is this any different?

So how do you all feel?
In the wasteland, the sly survive and the past and present are one, the sinners rot and the future is the ultimate purgatory

Killmod/Jesse